Red letter day


Has anyone else noticed that all the Valentines-themed window displays this year are red (with silver or black accoutrements)? Red to hot pink, at least. Where is all the marshmallowy pink, the fluffy powder colours, the teddy bears swearing eternal affection? Everwhere I looked, in town yesterday, there were red satin undergarments with the spindliest of garter belts (they won’t work, don’t you want your sexy to be practical too?), and shiny metallic balloons.

I did consider that it was a display of solidarity with China, any British-Chinese or visiting tourists, Chinese New Year falling today also. Red being an important related colour. But there wasn’t any gold involved, and besides – shop windows don’t tend to be that inclusive.

I hope you’re having a fine day, whatever you’re celebrating or whatever you aren’t. I do think it’s a shame when people are vitriolic against Saint Valentine’s Day, because being martyred because you refused to disallow soldiers to marry is pretty bloody admirable if you ask me. And technically, by visiting my blog, you did. Ha-HAH! I think it’s a day to celebrate, unless you prefer to make it a day for activism – St. V died for the cause of marriage for a portion of the population who higher-ups felt shouldn’t be allowed it. Who knows what his views on homosexuality would be, but luckily for us (and the whole point of this is that) he’s dead – so he can’t complain if we use his Day to say “Hey, Governments – Let Your People Marry”.

I was unconsciously mirroring the red red world, when I ventured out into it to search out records with my newly-drivers’-liscenced sister. My reds were deeper though, because straight-up primary colours make me look startled. And besides, I like the mystery of a slightly dirty hue.

I couldn’t physically be with my beloved for Valentine’s Day – actually, we’ve never been together on The Day (don’t worry! It’s never mattered, either) – and I’m not near any New Year celebrations as I thought I would be so I’m here typing.. Able to say that if you are feeling blue (and so quite out of place) then all you need to do is put on some dreamin’ gear and use that in-head laptop we call ‘imagination’ to fly you to where and with whom you really want to be. Look, I’ll show you:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Hat: Anthony Peto (birthday present), Hat as collar: gift from beloved (army surplus), Sweater: Jaeger (gift), Skirt: Jane Marple dans le salon, Belt: my Gran’s attic, Pouch on rear: Brazilian craftswoman via Deviantart, Pouch on front (blue): Shoon a year or two ago (who always have interesting leather products by their till), Pouch on front (red heart): Shoon last December, Boots: Dr Martens, Scarf: Accessorize (christmas present)

Oh – and I beg your pardon, happy New Year to China, and anyone who celebrates!

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in activism, BOOO HIGHSTREET, character design, cultural religion, dirt, DO IT FOR ME, drawing on my face, fine bri'ish tradishuns, good causes, history, insulting the professionals, jane marple, leather, links, me, observational, post-apocolyptica, responsibility, serious matters, stories, themes, things i hate, things i heart, tips, velvet, visits, wearing today, where i buy, zips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red letter day

  1. Claire says:

    Leave your comments here, if the ‘proper’ way won’t work for you! Thank you!

  2. miss neira says:

    Love the velvet skirt

    and v-day doesnt matter too much! being with your beloved on other days is just the same!

Leave a Reply

