Can’t see the forest for the legs


Dear Claire,

At Venus we believe that every woman should feel like a goddess inside and out; sexy, vibrant yet powerfully feminine. It’s why we have unveiled our latest offering of ultimate luxury and indulgence

Why thanks, Gillette & Venus! I do. I don’t need your product for it, but thanks for the email!

So, I’m just throwing this picture out here again, a) because I can, and b) because it makes me uncomfortable but I think it shouldn’t.

Photobucket

Now, I’m not implying that all ladies should eschew leg shavin’ or whatever; the email very strongly implied that to feel Goddessy and whatnot that I need their product. And whilst I appreciate capitalism and advertising and all that, I also think that companies don’t have tabula rasa on social political issues.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

I wore green today. Partly because I’m thinking about Robin Hood a lot recently (not excited to see the new movie; very interested in thinking my own thoughts about the legends) and partly because where I live there are a SHITLOAD of Conservative “FOR CHANGE” (ugh seriously?) banners on just about every road, and a tiiiiiny Green Party rectangle on one single bridge, which I only saw because I get lifts to work in that direction. GREENS GREENS GREENS! Plus, I have been watching through all of the vlogbrothers videos on the youtube. Which star John and Hank GREEN. Oh, and it’s Earth Day!

Mostly though because I really like this shade of green! It’s punchy!

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in activism, bodyhorror, drawing on my face, feminism, fine bri'ish tradishuns, good causes, how annoying, insulting the professionals, me, photographs not drawings, things i hate, things to change, wearing today. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can’t see the forest for the legs

  1. Claire says:

    Wanna spar about politics? Cool, cool. Can’t do it in the “Leave a Reply” area? Try here!

Leave a Reply

