Jubilee colours again


This is my mum:

Photobucket

This is a photograph taken from the inside of a car, after said car was stopped by said mother, in order for her to traipse about on a roundabout and the surrounding verges looking for interesting wildlife.

When I was little this sort of tendency embarrassed me horribly and made me so anxious (is that allowed?) – but now that I am grown I can appreciate it. She saw rare butterflies, and showed me some bee orchids. Bee orchids are fantastic.

I will say that I am not super keen on waiting forty minutes by the side of the road on a hot day when I have just recently been promised tea, but at least I had a book.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I love seeing these signs. X-Men 4 Lyfe.

Photobucket

This is what I wore to the job centre. I don’t really like the bright panels or colour and all the smiling, smiling faces they have up everywhere on all the walls, but I do like dressing my own colourful. I really hate being cheered up. But cheering myself is very satisfying.

I wonder what the info is on Job Centre dress codes? I’d be interested to know that. For the people that work there, I mean.

This shirt and another are getting extra stitches put in sometime this week. They fit so nicely across the front and have the buttons in exactly the right spot but as mentioned previously, the backs are exactly as wide as the fronts. For a lady with Bravissimo-style chest capacity this just won’t do – my back isn’t as wide as my front and this extra material bugs me. Like being in the wind.

I’m not restrained in the least by this pin, so a good X-stitching should sort things out propa.

Photobucket

Boots: Dr Martens, tights: Tesco, shorts: pinched from sister, belt: 10p car boot, shirt: GAP, coat, San Francisco Leather Factory (vintage, gift from sister)

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in admiration, bodies, books, character design, comics, florafauna, loungin', me, MUST DO THIS, photographs not drawings, purple, STRONG OPINIONS, things to change, visitin' brittin, wearing today, work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jubilee colours again

  1. lizzie says:

    Ze shorts are from Republic.

  2. lizzie says:

    pee.ess your kate middleton banner thingy only links to photobucket

  3. Polly says:

    I have these kinds of journeys with the boy – he allows me to ask him to stop so I can look at random things. The world is a much brighter place because of impromptu stops :)

  4. Leia says:

    I think it’s so funny that your mum wanted to stop to look for wildlife! My mum constantly makes me stop when we’re in the car so she can go into shops (not quite the same thing, but maybe a city equivalent?). I find it SO boring, so I wait in the car with my book, too!

    • illusclaire says:

      It’s totally a city equivalent! My mum’s always eyed shopping with a sort of ‘are you trying to trick me?’ suspicion, but then she grew up on a farm with three brothers. Her main hobby has always been wildlife classification. But they’re both about getting a stronger grip on the world around you, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

