My unillustrated Saturday


Here’s what I did today:

I roller-skated in the park and avoided crashing into dog walkers, though I did run into a bush which pricked me with thorns. Worked on my rolling posture. No ground-falls this week!

I visited every charity shop in Warwick, trying OH TRYING to find something inspiring for the Charity Swap.

I bought the week’s vegetables from the market, and paid for the last part of my sister’s birthday present (Scott Pilgrim vs the World volume one), and then I gave it to her.

I took tea! And cake.

I visited every charity shop in Leamington Spa, as above.

I looked for, found and bought a pair of “girl shoes”. I got dressed this morning in a high-waisted knee-length blue plaid skirt, blue patterned fishnet tights and a fitted t-shirt with lace crochet gathered around the neckline, and as I put my boots on I thought “you know, I don’t actually feel uncomfortable with the idea of being fully non-clunky, and I do feel less than pleased with always being at least a little clunky. Sometimes it might be nice to put on shoes that say ‘poise’ or ‘fluttery’.”

I visited the Leamington Peace Festival. I ate a crepe! I listened to music, bandstand and main-stage! I looked through all the stalls! Surprising amounts of vintage, actually. I people-watched! I mourned the lack of meat food-products.

I went to a record fair, which I was not all that big on. It’s just less fun than picking through unlabelled car boot boxes, when you can zero in on the “PUNK/INDIE” box at every table. Also, everything I am after is way more expensive! So, no buy. But it’s nice that some guys offer a record player/headphones listen-before-you-buy combo!

I ate a baked potato. There is such pleasure in eating on the street.

I looked through a Harry Potter Lego visual encyclopedia in Waterstones, as a rest.

I went to Boots, that sister (who was there all along, by the by) could buy HAIR BLEACH. Neither of us has dyed our hair before, so.. adventure.

I found a(nother) vintage/re-sale/antiques sale. But this one was in a pub! A pretty nice pub. I may go back.

I sat in a park and helped sister arrange her new purchases upon herself,

And then I sat under a tree on grass and waited for a lift for a (not really) terribly long time, wearing large sunglasses and a headscarf tied under my chin.

And through all of this, the only picture I have is taken once we got home – pretend you don’t see the old, old nail polish, yes?:

Photobucket

Always remember to take your camera, dears.

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in character design, experiments, how annoying, lists, me, wearing today, yay highstreet??. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My unillustrated Saturday

  1. Sherin says:

    Your Saturday was definitely more fun than mine. Absolutely love those shoes! Definitely really pretty. Also, eating a crepe and baked potatoe in the same day is heaven for me!

  2. Vix says:

    Love those shoes! Did I miss the Leamington Peace Festival AGAIN? God, I’m so rubbish. xxx

    • illusclaire says:

      You could still make it if you left RIGHT NOW? :3 It’s on the whole weekend. But at least one of the vendors (he had two pretty great suede vests which were just SLIGHTLY too big for me, alas, and my sister bought a fez from him) will be at Glastonbury next week, almost certainly more, so.. you can just pretend!

      There’s always next year. I’ll be your guide!

  3. Terri says:

    So, these are the new shoes? Excellent choice…

Leave a Reply

