Look at your man. Now back to me. I’m on a hovercraft.


Photobucket

Photobucket

Look at this man.

LOOK AT THIS MAN!!!

Dayum that is a well-dressed fella.

He’s like the raddest cartoon who ever sprang into the third dimension. But he does look like a man-on-the-street, it’s not cosplay or over graphicised.

All men should wear polo-necks, maybe. And ALL PEOPLE should wear flares.

Well, no, they shouldn’t. But I enormously approve of flared trousers. I miss having some to wear. I could add panels to some skinnies, but they don’t flow quite as well as flare-intended pairs. I know; I did a lot of flare experimentation in my youth.

This man is Shigeru Jō, who is also known as Kamen Rider Stronger. I mean, he’s played by an actor, I guess.

Last week when my mister was here we watched the first episode of every Kamen Rider series – apart from V3, which we couldn’t find. Apart from Ichigo, Stronger was my favourite Shōwa Rider. Or Rider series maybe. It has a lady rider!!

Photobucket

HOW COOL DOES SHE LOOK???

Not cool enough to be officially recognised as a Rider, despite being a rider, who is masked, who is an augmented human who can Henshin. I haven’t got to the explanation (in-universe) for why she is so rudely ignored, yet, but I suspect that it will not satisfy me. I love it dearly but the Kamen Rider franchise is ridiculously patriarchal. Ridiculously.

But she’s there and she gets things done and she is a Rider to me and she looks awesome, which in a visual entertainment show is important.

To wit, this:

Photobucket

The putties of the series.

They’re askin’ why you wear that stupid human suit.

I can’t find any more episodes of KRStronger, subbed. I’ll probably watch them raw, because OH the exciting visuals! I can wait, to find out what everyone’s saying.

Stronger also has my favourite Henshin sequence. It’s really fun to do. I might have it a little wrong, because the episode’s not on my laptop, but – it’s the spirit of the thing, that counts.

Photobucket

Yup I found some pink jeans, brand new, that fit well enough to not inspire hate or ire, I win.

Photobucket

Boots: Dr Martens, trousers: some pet charity shop, shirt: sister’s cast-off (but that’s fine, she got her Bowie-love from me anyway), jacket: Fred Perry at Bicester Village outlet shop (and it’s been in well-loved use for so long that the circular zip-pull finally snapped off in the Job Centre last Thursday, which is a major bummer, contextually), glass beads: some discount shop in Leamington, by the bus stop.

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in admiration, bitterness, bollocks, character design, characters, complimenting the professionals, cultural religion, feminism, how annoying, information, Kamen Rider Fashun, links, LOVE, me, photographs not drawings, SPOILERS, stories, themes, things to change, tv, videos, wearing today, where i buy, why do you do this toei. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look at your man. Now back to me. I’m on a hovercraft.

  1. You have a lot helpful ideas! Perhaps I should think of trying to do this myself.

Leave a Reply

