Pie and pies to come


Here is what I propse: Pie of the month Club.

I don’t really know what I mean by “club” and I don’t know if this is a thing that already exists, exclusively. What I mean is that I am going to make one pie per month* this year, and then I am going to share them here, with recipes. Even though I haven’t outfit blogged for ages (it’s gloomy!) I feel like fashion + food is a good mixture – both in terms of enjoyability, and in terms of ‘these are not contradictory concepts’.

Unlike my Fancy Book Week posts, which I never intended to cover an actual week but rather to be seven posts about seven books, whenever, I DO intend to keep to a minimal schedule on this. Join in with me!

I would love to know you also cook or eat pies. I would love to know your favourite recipes or salespeople. I would love to see you use one of the recipes I recommend. I would just love to see a picture of a pie you have known, because eating with the eyes is a close second to eating with the mouth.

Here is a picture of the pork pie I made with my sweetie on New Year’s Day:

Photobucket

It was amazing; we felt such a glow of achievement. It tasted like a real pork pie, that you buy! We boiled a ham bone and a PIG’S TROTTER to get the gelatin out – ‘authenticity’ all the way.

A pig’s foot, y’all. It looked so awful after it had been boiled. But the gelatin left-overs made a terrific soup.

A hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall recipe that I can’t re-find for some reason (here is a similar one) was the basis, the filling was a mixture of home-chopped various pork cuts and my favourite pork and tomato sausage filling from my local purveyor of fine meats.

It was sooooo goooood.

What’s next? Well, I have a leek/pheasant/bacon combination on the go right now.

February shall see vegetarian pies, don’t you worry.

And vegan ones, sometime.

*At least

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pie and pies to come

  1. Terri says:

    And don’t forget nut pies!

Leave a Reply

