Weekend


Tennis club catering..! Once a year every member (my dad, he also coaches the little’uns) has to provide the teas.

Photobucket

We served: one batch of gingerbread / one batch of chocolate brownie / one swedish cardamom cake (lemon icing) / one apple scone round (divides into eight helpings) / one batch of nut thins (biscuits) / one plai sponge (freshly whipped cream and plum jam) / one batch of flapjacks (which dad made rather than me).

It turned out to be exactly the right amount; we sold every piece, and the one hungry tennis played who turned up late would have been served if I hadn’t given away the last nut thin for free. At fifty pence for a cup of tea and fifty pence for a piece of cake(/etc), we took sixty eight pounds and fifty pence.

Of course, if you consider wages for two servers and maybe one hour’s worth of work-time per item, plus expenses, that’s nowhere near even minimum wage. But whatever! I made a big load of cakes and people kept on saying how delicious they were, plus I keep forty quid, so this unemployed lady is happy.

I have my hair up like this because I was in disguise as a person who might go to a tennis club. And then I just liked it.

Photobucket

Then I went to the roller disco, where they came perilously close to playing an actual disco tune. Not quite, but I like ABBA under any circumstances and you can’t stop me.

Then again, they play the Y.M.C.A every week, and the Village People are a “disco group”.. but they never do play the WHOLE song so I remain wanting. It always segues into that awful.. is it called “Cha Cha Slide”? GET OFF MY LAWN, school party songs recorded after 1999!

Photobucket

Dear Gotye, thank you for recording a song that became popular enough to play to a basic market of 9-14s whilst also being.. you know..

Good..

Photobucket

Today I am just bumming around the garden lookin’ at stuff I grew, cos after all that (and all that after I slept verry poorly due to waking myself repeatedly with my own coughs) I slept for a thousand years and missed archery.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Not sure if this is beetroot (I HOPE SO) or chard (which is also delicious, fair play); it’s the only plant that grew at all from either of these seedlings.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

The difference that a propagation dome makes, huh?

Photobucket
Photobucket

When I was weeding my garlic and the leeks, I found this small green curled creature.

Photobucket

I like it.

Photobucket

Wearing today: Spring jumper: Baby, the Stars Shine Bright, culottes: old Brownie uniform, tights: sainsbury’s

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in fine bri'ish tradishuns, florafauna, food, hurray!, me, nature is the future, photographs not drawings, wearing today, where i buy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

