PIE OF THE MONTH: MARCH


You thought I crashed and burned, dintcha? WELL YOU WERE WRONG!

I have two pies for March. I just forgot to post them in March.

This one was made by myself, to a <a href="Hairy Bikers recipe: it is a cheese an onion pie but it is quite obviously a cheese an onion potato pie. If an ingredient features heavily, include it in the name!

It’s very nice, and cools very solidly – good picnic food.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I only have small pie tins, so I had to make two. I also added some fried mince that I had leftover but frankly that didn’t improve them in the least.

Pie two! Made by my sweetheart, who cooks probably about as often as me. But this is a PRIDE PIE because it is a fish pie, cooked by a man who does not like fish but is determined to learn to for health purposes. Lovelovelove. And it’s working! And look how beautiful this pie is, he could throw and catch it (I know this because he did).

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I don’t have a recipe for pie two, but maybe this post can inspire you anyway. Have you been eating pies in March? Do you plan a pie for April?

My plan is to formulate a dessert pie, some sort of ‘mock pork pie’, because we made coffee jelly with gelatin a few weeks ago, and I need to use that in place of plain ole pigfoot jelly to pad out a pie.

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in food, photographs not drawings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PIE OF THE MONTH: MARCH

  1. This is the best site for anybody who desires to find out about this subject. You notice so much its nearly onerous to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a brand new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply nice!

  2. Coffee jelly! I want the recipe for that!! Seriously.

    • illusclaire says:

      It’s actually SO EASY – make two cups of coffee, add at least two spoonfuls of sugar, add a packet of gelatin and pour onto a mould to set. I haven’t tried it with milk, but I plan to (or: coffee panacotta?). We didn’t use enough sugar the first time and as a result the actual jelly barely registered.. You just got a taste-aroma of coffee slipping down the throat. It’s definitely an “eat with ice-cream” dish.

Leave a Reply

