Saturday


Photobucket

A playing card is a ridiculous thing to find on the ground; it makes your whole day feel like symbolism.

I drank a latte in a mustard-yellow mug and saucer and ate chocolate shortbread balanced on my knee because the family gathering also seated outside needed the table more than I did, and because doing that is fun. Then it rained. It really rained.

Photobucket

After that it was sunny and I lay on the tennis club grass even though I’m not exactly allowed to, and read a fairly poor book. My dad brought me ginger beer. I was very satisfied.

Soon I shall write a beginner’s guide to roller discos: one of the most important pieces of advice I can give you, which I am, is that you shouldn’t wear a jacket. You will get too hot, and then when you unzip it it will flap around; something flapping around is basically the worst thing you can have when you’re trying to balance. Another piece of advice is that you should never wear anything below the knee. I ignored everything end ended up tucked and rolled and sweaty, out of necessity.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I could’t keep the shirt I had been wearing all day on without my jacket because I am on joking terms with the roller disco proprietor – the stupid unbalanced gender-rule based society we call “British” makes me uncomfortable with the idea of wearing anything that could be called ‘flirtatious’ to a destination controlled by a male that I know.

It looks like I am flashing there, maybe, but I’m not: I just have my hands in my pockets.

On the whole it was a good day. I found a wicker basket with with to gather. Charity shop tip: peer into their stock room when they leave the door open.

Photobucket

Skirt: half a 60s outfit from etsy, orange top: birthday present from sweetie, jacket: Fred Perry from Bicester Village a hundred years ago, t-shirt: British Heart Foundation, shoes: VW Anglomania + Melissa from yoox in 2010

About Claire Napier

Real cool gal
This entry was posted in angry eyes, bitterness, bodies, character design, feminism, fine bri'ish tradishuns, how annoying, hurray!, loungin', me, purple, things to change, wearing today, weather, where i buy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday

  1. Terri says:

    Love the birthday top sweetie picked out for you and the basket makes me want to come help harvest. We have so many tomatoes in ours–we could do a swap.

Leave a Reply

